Too Much Time on our Hands

I’ve been reading the book, “The Hunger Games,”  and a quote got me thinking.  In general the book is about a rich Capital place, and then outlying districts which are really poor and they suffer hard work to provide things for the center Capital.  When the main character goes to the Capital, she is disgusted by what people look like and how rich they are, and what expensive foods they eat.  The place sounds an awful lot like the US today.  Except that we don’t force children to kill each other for our entertainment like in the book.  Thinking about the rich people in the Capital who are all excessively decorated in makeup, jewelry, etc., she says to herself, “what do they do all day, these people in the Capitol, besides decorating their bodies and waiting around for a new shipment of tributes to roll in and die for their entertainment?

That quote really struck me.  I think it describes our society pretty well, and especially describes myself and other crossdressers well.  Maybe our society has too much time on its hands.   I know crossdressing is something that occurs in other cultures as well, but it seems that in less rich countries, people don’t have time to worry about things like crossdressing.  They are just working hard to provide for their families and survive.  But in rich countries like the US, in Europe, Japan, and China, people seem to care much more about how they look.  We of course still work, but we don’t have to work from morning till bedtime, and we have lots of free time.  Time for entertainment – internet, television, sports, movies, music, etc., and we have a lot more time to just enjoy decorating ourselves.  Shopping is a hobby.  We analyze clothes, we have the money to be able to buy new clothes all the time.  We watch television shows and read magazines about fashion and style.

I feel convicted reading that quote.  Maybe this isn’t true for all of us.  But as a past crossdresser, I spent every free moment I could decorating myself, analyzing how I looked, and looking at myself in the mirror.  Or I would do this through fantasy.  It’s like the problem of our culture, but on steroids for us.  So, is the problem that our culture has developed too much and we don’t have enough work to do anymore?  Do we really just have lots of free time making it perfectly fine for us to spend so much time in entertainment and fashion?  I don’t think so.  One has only to look at the problems of our country and our world to see a tremendous amount of suffering and problems.  We often ignore problems in the world, and spend our free time not working hard like others in the world, but dinking around with entertainment and decorating ourselves.

I feel convicted about this.  Thankfully I do not waste hours of my time in front of the mirror in women’s clothes or reading fantasies anymore.  I don’t do those things at all anymore.  And that gives me much more time to devote to important things in life.  But I do still often over-analyze the clothing and decoration of my wife.  I like shopping for her more than she does.  I have to be careful not to go overboard with her as well.  I also waste a lot of my life playing computer games, when I could be doing more productive things, and I plan to work more on changing that.

2 Thessalonians 3:7-10 –  For you yourselves know how you ought to follow our example. We were not idle when we were with you, 8 nor did we eat anyone’s food without paying for it. On the contrary, we worked night and day, laboring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you. 9 We did this, not because we do not have the right to such help, but in order to make ourselves a model for you to follow.

Leave a Reply

