Video in the News – Male Grooming Changes

Here is an article and video called – “How TODAY’s men view the male grooming boom.”  I’m not sure what I think about it all yet.  I’m curious to know what others of you think?

I think the names are stupid like mewelry and murses.  Seriously?  Are such dumb names really necessary?  What is the point?  Is it to try to say that men are doing feminine things?  I hope not, since most of us would want to say these things are okay and should not be exclusively feminine.  Why can’t they just call them jewelry and bags?   I’m not against men using these items, I just think the names are dumb.  Men should be allowed to care about how they dress and how they look just as women do.  There is nothing inherently feminine about jewelry or bags with a shoulder strap.

On the other hand, I think this shows the way our culture is going.  We are so rich and have so much time on our hands that now not just women, but men as well, are becoming more and more concerned about how they look.  There is nothing necessarily wrong with good grooming and trying to look good.   But many women in our culture are way too obsessed with it, and now it seems men are giving in too.  For example, manicures it seems to me are a ridiculous waste of money, even for women.  And spray on tanning?  Wow.  And now men are getting manicures too.  I know that’s just my opinion, and lots of people would disagree with me.  But our culture spends so much money on fancy clothes, and fancy grooming, and cosmetic type products.  Not only is most of it unnecessary but should we really be spending so much money on those things when other people are starving to death or don’t have clean water to drink?  And all of these things contribute to our environmental footprint and impact on this world.

It seems to me that men should be calling out to women saying, “hey you are beautiful already, you don’t need to spend hundreds of dollars on clothes, and being obsessed with your grooming.”  But instead, out of envy, they are now saying, “we want to be obsessed too!”

I shouldn’t be so negative about the video. Positively speaking, I am glad the way our culture is going in that it is becoming more gender balanced.  Instead of men only having boring clothes, and women having beautiful clothes with lots of accessories, men are allowed to care about their dress as well.  This is a good thing, and I think for many of us past crossdressers it is helpful.  The more we are allowed to care about how we look as men, the more we will take care and joy in how we look, and won’t think about trying to make ourselves look beautiful as women, because we will see our male beauty.  In general though, it would be nice for our culture to be less concerned and obsessed with external beauty for both men and women.  And perhaps we wouldn’t have developed into crossdressers if not for our culture’s obsession with external beauty.

2 comments on “Video in the News – Male Grooming Changes

  1. Ralph says:

    This isn’t exactly a new thing — remember John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever? Getting one ear pierced used to be a cutting-edge trend; now it’s not that unusual for a man to get both ears pierced. I wish purses/bags/whatever would be more mainstream. I just can’t fit everything I need to carry in my pants pockets. Keys, wallet, cell phone, pens, checkbook, sunglasses, driving glasses… maybe I could follow my daughter’s lead and take to wearing a backpack everywhere, pretending to be a 50-year-old college student.

    Totally agree about the stupid names. It’s like they want all the adornments women have, but want to make it perfectly clear that they do not consider themselves in the least bit effeminate. OK fine, whatever. Now either keep your legs closed when you sit or wear a longer “kilt”.

    By coincidence, we covered 1 Peter chapter 3 in Bible study last Wednesday. After spending 30 minutes just on “Wives, submit to your husbands…” (with the end result being that the wives all admitted they struggle with that) he moved on to the verse about excessive makeup. Not only did the women agree they also had trouble with that advice, but I found it amusing that every single woman in the group was wearing pants.

    Not sure what point I’m trying to make here, other than to agree that the gender lines are getting more blurry with each generation.

    Like

  2. John says:

    I couldn’t agree more with your handbag comments Ralph and you overall post Thorin. I hate stuffing all that stuff in my pockets. I’ve had my circulation cut off in the past from having too many things in my pockets jamming into my thighs when I sit down. It truly does amaze me all the cultural conditioning we have toward certain accoutrements between the genders and what is acceptable/permissible for one or the other to use or wear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

