Interesting Article – “America in Transition”

I came across this article through a wordpress blog that was linking to it.  I don’t really know anything about the website or the author.  You can read it here, called – “America in Transition.” I found the article very interesting.  It certainly describes well the current changes our country is going through related to LBGT issues.  I don’t really want to take the time right now to comment on everything I found interesting in the article.  There was A LOT I found interesting, so just read the article.  I’ll say this – After reading this article about our country and these issues, the words that characterize my thoughts and feelings right now most strongly are – Frustrated, depressed, and disturbed.  Our country is getting itself so confused.   It seems like with these issues and just about every other issue these days, people make judgments and decisions based on their feelings rather than logic.  And that’s getting us into a mess.

I have a lot of compassion towards those who feel confused about their gender, or have gotten a sex reassignment surgery.  And I understand and sympathize with those Americans who want us to be loving and tolerant and accepting toward LBGT people.  But when I read articles like this, I get very frustrated and angry with all the changes being pushed onto our country.  It’s one thing to give people equal rights, respect, and tolerance.  I’m all for that.  But many of the changes taking place are ridiculous, in my opinion.  The article does a good job demonstrating this, I think, so I’ll let you read it rather than repeating everything.

 

This part was really interesting –

Quote – “It is not obvious,” he note, “how this patient’s feeling that he is a woman trapped in a man’s body differs from the feeling of a patient with anorexia nervosa that she is obese despite her emaciated, cachectic state.”  “We don’t do liposuction on anorexics,” he wrote. “Why amputate the genitals of these poor men? Surely, the fault is in the mind not the member.”

We look at an anorexic person, like one of my close relatives, and we tell her, “no seriously, you are really thin, you just don’t feel that way, but you have to trust us, you are not fat.  We need to get you help.”  But then, when a man tells us he is truly a woman, even though we’ve tested and seen he has XY chromosomes, his body parts are clearly male, and he looks like any other man, we say, “oh, you are a woman?  Okay, I’ll start calling you ‘she’.”   Why don’t we try to psychologically help this person, what is the difference?  Why do encourage them to go ahead and surgically alter their bodies?   Good food for thought…..

5 comments on “Interesting Article – “America in Transition”

  1. Eric says:

    I’ve had the same thought about anorexics. I’ve looked up how psychiatrists treat both, and the first stage for both is the same — therapy.

    I guess I struggle with the question “Why don’t we treat this psychologically?”, but then ignore the standards of care created by psychiatrists that have been treating this issue for the past 50 years.

    That’s not to say I agree with those standards, Then there’s a giant difference between someone who switches genders each day and one who legally does it. The one has seen a licensed professional, who has followed the latest standards of care. It’s a process that takes years. Alternative methodologies have been tried and produced suicide rates of over 70%.

    The person who just says it, but hasn’t followed any protocol, needs to figure things out. That behavior appears to have problems with attention grabbing behavior instead of a gender issue.

    Like

  2. thorin25 says:

    Very true Eric and many good points.

    Let me say, I do realize that it’s still required to get therapy for those who get sex reassignment surgery. But I guess my point was that most therapists these days don’t treat it as something that is a problem or struggle, but rather the focus is on helping the person to transition their sex (at least that is my impression of where most therapists are at now in our culture).

    So it’s not that the therapy isn’t there at all anymore, but it’s no longer about helping the person to become content and happy with who they truly are, but about helping them to go forward with what they already want to do (and I think that they shouldn’t do).

    And I don’t want to defend previous ways of treating gender identity disorders, especially if they led to so much suicide. I don’t know enough about them. But I’m sure there are good treatments out there that don’t need to lead to suicide. Just regular talking it out with a counselor is helpful I think. We hear about the suicides. But there are a lot of men and women who have struggled with their sex/gender identity and have overcome that struggle and become content. I’ve posted testimonies to some, but a lot probably have overcome their struggles even without going to counseling that we just don’t hear about.

    Like

  3. Ralph says:

    In 75% agreement here, but (probably due to my lack of understanding of the field) I believe there is a biological difference between non-transgender… what’s the term now, “cisgender”? and transfolk. Maybe while they were being knitted together in the womb they got an extra bath of estrogen or something. Look at it this way: Suppose you consider yourself 100% male inside and out, and your wife 100% female, and then you meet an intersexed person (aka hermaphrodite)… you might say that person is 50% male and 50% female, right down to the anatomy and hormones. By my theory, there may also be people who are 75% male and 25% female, not just in their fantasy world but biologically as well. But as I say, I don’t really understand how all the chromosomes and hormones and whatever work together, so maybe I’m completely wrong.

    Like

  4. Eric says:

    I agree there are bad therapists out there. There are some who are rubber stamps. And to date there are no definitive biological tests. There are some that may indicate hormonal problems in utero — the ratio of the index finger to the ring finger of the right hand should be less than 0.95 in a man. Other tests have been proposed involving the hippocampus. I’m not sure if you could measure that in an MRI or not. But it would be a very expensive test.

    Like

  5. thorin25 says:

    Eric, as you find good articles about such tests, I’d be interested in reading them. Thanks for the comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

