Gender Identity Quizzes

So I was thinking recently about gender identity quizzes and wondered what kind of questions they use to determine masculinity and femininity.   So I went online and looked up about 10 of them.  Most were really stupid with like 10 questions that someone made just for fun, and were full of stupid stereotypes.  One I found was COGATI or something like that, and I’m not sure how professional it was, but it seemed very interesting.  However, I noticed many bad stereotypes within that one too, such as it’s more feminine to not be able to catch a ball, and more feminine to like board games rather than sports, and other things like that.

I do believe there are general differences between men and women, though I’m not sure what they all are.  But it seems to me so much of the talk about gender identity and transgenderism in our culture today revolves around gender stereotypes that are outdated and unhelpful.  And yet the transgender community seems to cling to them.   A transgendered person sees that they match up with the traditional sex/gender stereotypes in many ways and so they conclude they are truly the opposite sex.

Are there any gender identity tests out there on the internet that are more helpful?  That don’t include obviously ridiculous gender stereotypes but rather look at more of the biological differences and even brain differences or different ways that men and women think?  A test like that I would be interested in looking at more and see how it rated me.  On the tests I’ve done, I was rated either as androgynous or female, even though I am and feel fully male.  My love for board games and novels shouldn’t mean that I am more female than male or more feminine than masculine.

I’m also interested to hear from any transsexuals who “knew” they were the opposite sex because of reasons other than the traditional gender stereotypes.  If a man “knew” he was really a woman because of some other reasons, other than that he was sensitive, didn’t like sports, etc., I would be really interested to listen and hear their story.

17 comments on “Gender Identity Quizzes

  1. Eric says:

    The Cogiati is the only one I found that isn’t silly. There are going to be stereotypes in the quizzes because male and female brains are different. Men are better with spatial orientation. Women are more caring. It’s a generality, but it’s true. When I’ve talked to male TGs, they’ve never said I get lost a lot, I must be a woman. I like dolls, I must be a woman.

    The feeling that they are different comes first. I’ve heard it expressed three ways — “I am a woman”, “I want to be a woman”, or “I’m not like the other guys”. When asked why, then they will go back to the stereotypes to try to explain it.

    If you want male TG stereotypes, these are the ones I found.
    1. Self destructive (drug/alcohol abuse, self harm, defined suicide plans, suicide attempts)
    2. Depression
    3. Compensation
    a. Works in male dominated industry (computers,math, science, military, or police)
    b. Adrenaline junkie (car racer, motorcycles, pilots, firefighter, infantry)
    c. Extremely competitive (winning is life and death)
    4. Low number of sexual relationships. Poor sexual performance.

    Like

  2. thorin25 says:

    Thanks for the comment Eric. I guess it’s hard to nail down the feeling that you are the opposite sex without resorting to stereotypes. So maybe it’s not totally fair for me to try to force them to do so. I agree about the generalities of sex differences between men and women. But it’s just that I also get fed up with some of the stereotypes that really are not so helpful.

    And my theory is that transgendered people would find healing and contentment not in getting surgery and living as the opposite sex, but rather in finding out the freedom that you can be who you are, like sewing, have less spatial reasoning, be more sensitive, play with dolls, think more like a woman tends to think, and still be fully a man and become content with that.

    I think your male TG stereotypes are helpful. Rather than resorting to cultural gender differences that always have exceptions, what you are giving is traits that TG males seem to have in common because of their feeling that they actually are a woman, in the wrong body.

    Hopefully I’ve understood you correctly. Good thought provoking comment.

    Like

  3. Eric says:

    I agree Thorin that there can be healing and contentment finding the freedom to live as you choose inside your natural body. It’s a different path than what is frequently advocated, but good therapists will help people work towards that goal. LIke I said elsewhere, too many therapists are rubberstamps. Part of the problem is the therapists, part of the problem is the clients. They feel broken and want the elusive quick fix that doesn’t exist.

    Like

  4. Eric says:

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/sex/articles/brain_sex.shtml
    Based on two stereotypes:
    1. Woman are compassionate. Men are systematic.
    2. Woman are better with words. Men are better with math.

    They mention that only 80% of men have “male” brains and only 80% of women have “female” brains.

    Like

  5. thorin25 says:

    Interesting, I got a score that says I have a balanced male-female brain. This quiz was much more likable to me than others I’ve seen. Seems to make more sense of true general sex/gender differences rather than cultural stereotypes. So I guess I interpret my score to mean that I am not the average man, in the way that my mind tends to work, but I don’t see that as a bad thing either, and doesn’t mean I’m less than the average man, just different. Thanks for the link

    Like

  6. Eric says:

    I got the same score. I was right in the middle.

    Like

  7. Eric says:

    two more: garote.bdmonkeys.net/bsri.html
    androgyne.0catch.com/gentest1.htm
    Both are versions of the BEM Test. The BEM test ties into your current post a little because it gives you a female score, a male score, and a neutral score. So someone could be both highly feminine and highly masculine, low on both, or the more typical high on one and low on the other.

    Like

  8. thorin25 says:

    On the first one, I got 76.6 on masculine, 77.5 on feminine, and 65.8 on androgynous. I’m not sure what that is supposed to tell us. What is the difference between someone with all high numbers and someone with all low numbers? I also don’t know what to think about such tests, because some of the traits are traits we are supposed to aspire to as Christians, and can change as we mature and grow. Some like jealousy we are supposed to work on getting rid of. I have learned to be a good leader, and learned to be honest, etc, etc. I also have changed in my personality. I used to be extremely shy, and am not shy at all anymore. I think personality is more flexible than psychologists make it out to be. What are your thoughts Eric?

    On the second test, I got positive 16 = nearly feminine. I’m sure if my wife took this, she would be on the masculine side. Eric, do you know if counselors would use such tests to help people find out if they are transgender or not? I would have some issues with that.

    It seems based on my results that either a. the tests are flawed, men and women are all over the spectrum, and these stereotypes are no longer true. b. I’m transgender (but I’m not). c. I am a man but much different from other men, being more like women tend to be than men tend to be.

    Interesting stuff, thanks for the good links Eric, very interesting

    Like

  9. Eric says:

    I also noticed that many of the feminine traits were also aspirational Christian traits. I can talk to my therapist more about why this test is used. I assume some people use it to diagnose transgender. The interesting idea behind this test is that male and female stereotypes aren’t in competition. So someone could be gentle and assertive or neither.

    I just did the second test and answered how I thought Jesus would score. I coincidentally came to a positive 16 for Him.

    I would interpret your results to mean that you are just as manly as any man, but you also excel at female traits as well (as might be expected of a pastor).

    Like

  10. thorin25 says:

    Eric, that is really interesting that you scored it for Jesus. Obviously, we don’t know what his personality was like exactly, but we do know certain things about him, willing to stand up for the truth, willing to suffer, compassionate, spoke with authority, etc. The church throughout history has often pictured Jesus in a more effeminate way than they should I think, especially the drawings of him which seem to me to be really androgynous. He was very bold and strong and courageous, besides being compassionate and loving. And he spoke about coming woes, judgment, and Hell. I’m not criticizing how you scored him for the test, perhaps he does come out as feminine on that particular test.

    Looking at your other recent comment about the church, I wonder if that’s part of the reason I loved the church and wanted to be a pastor. Perhaps the church is too feminine and not making room for more masculine men. Perhaps that’s why I fit in so well because I’m so different from other men, being more feminine. Perhaps we need more people that are not like me, men who are more masculine who can draw and attract other more typical men, and men who are not like me, who have very different personality and gifts than me and the typical “feminine” pastors like me. Maybe that would help balance out the church. The statistics certainly seem to be that far more women go to church than men. I hate gender stereotypes, but if we just assent to the view that men are more assertive and more about action than women are, then perhaps that is why the Church seems to be stagnating in many ways today, because of the lack of men of action. But I don’t know if I really want to say or believe that. Just interesting stuff to think about.

    I’ll be interested to hear what your therapist says.

    Like

  11. Eric says:

    I’d be interested in how you would score the test for Jesus. I used what I knew from the gospels and used that score Him. According to my scoring, He gets feminine points for loving children, sympathetic, and compassionate. He lost masculine points on forceful, dominant, and aggressive. He was the original definition of meek — strength under control. Since the problem cannot be him, it’s our stereotypes. Should we always be forceful, dominant, and aggressive? Should we always love children, be sympathetic, and be compassionate? I can think of many times when it would be unwise for the former but can’t for the latter. Maybe that’s my perception issue.

    In other words, I didn’t judge Jesus by the test. I judged the test by the standard of Jesus (or rather my imperfect interpretation of how He would score). Based on that standard, a strong Christian (male or female) should score slightly feminine. Maybe the test correlates better with our sinful nature.

    Like

  12. thorin25 says:

    Totally agree Eric. It seems that the feminine column on the 2nd test are things that are “always good.” Whereas the things in the masculine column are “usually good” but sometimes not what is best, depending on the situation. I’m sure my score for Jesus would come out near the same as yours. I wonder if our score for Jesus would be different if we took his 2nd coming into account, and not just his 1st coming. At his 2nd coming, I don’t see him being gentle and tender, but rather coming to finally bring judgment to those who don’t know him, and vindicating his followers. Perhaps, like in Jesus’ case, there is a time and place to not be gentle.

    But this whole discussion reminds me of one of the issues I have with the traditional gender stereotypes. (I do think men and women have general differences, but let’s just look at the traditional stereotypes). On the traditional gender stereotypes, most of the Christian virtues, such as the fruits of the Holy Spirit tend to be thought of as feminine. This leads to us thinking of girls as sugar and spice, and boys naughty and so on. It excuses boys for wrong behavior in ways that it shouldn’t. And it stifles girls. It’s like whatever feminist in the past said that women are stifled into being the madonna (virgin Mary sinless perfection) or harlot. They don’t get to be normal humans. They are seen as either perfect angels, or prostitutes. All of this is to say that, at least from a Christian perspective, the traditional gender stereotypes are not biblical. They are unhelpful. Sure, there are general differences between men and women, but the way tradition has hashed that out, its made feminine = Christian virtues, and masculine = aggressive sinfulness. Hence also why in the past sometimes men’s sexual immorality with adultery and so on is overlooked, that’s just men being men, but women doing the same thing are marginalized and cast out by a society.

    This set of messed up view of gender and stereotypes leads to gender confusion. If girls feel like they don’t live up to those virtues, they might feel more masculine. If boys want to try to be good, they might feel more feminine. And it made boys like me, who were gentle and compassionate, rather than strong and courageous, feel more in line with femininity, girl’s toys, etc. And this could have played a role in developing my crossdressing, because my crossdressing was not just sexual pleasure, but a wonderful sense of identifying with the feminine, with feeling good, soft, gentle, etc. etc. When in reality, I should be able to be gentle and loving as a man and not feel like that is out of place. I shouldn’t have to crossdress to feel in line with my God-given personality and traits. These stereotypes also maybe make non-Christian men feel like the church is feminine, when in reality it’s not.

    Part of the reason I get so riled up about transgenderism so often, is that it seems to reinforce these very damaging gender stereotypes. Rather than transsexuals liberating gender, they are in fact reinforcing the traditional notions. I want to liberate people from being so obsessed with gender. Yes it’s important. It’s a part of life. But mainly we are human beings, and gender shouldn’t be such a big deal. Let’s get rid of the dumb stifling stereotypes and all live as respectful joyful human beings. But then transgendered folks come along and say, “I feel like a girl rather than a boy, because of x,y, and z gender stereotypes.” And gender becomes extremely important to them, enough so that without a sex change life sometimes doesn’t seem worth living. I understand their pain and hurt. I sympathize with them. But I think the answer is getting rid of faulty rigid extreme views of gender, not giving in to them as I believe they are doing.

    Like

  13. Eric says:

    Good point about taking into account the second coming. Or we could look at the OT and see more forceful, aggressive actions as well. When talking about the nature of God, it makes sense that both female and male attributes would be evident because God created gender. All attributes are either a godly attribute or a lack of that attribute. Just like there’s no such thing as “dark”. There’s only light and the absence of light.

    Like

  14. thorin25 says:

    Agreed, male and female together are the image of God. The question is whether we are image bearers of God in exactly the same way as humans, and our gender is just something different, or do we image him in different ways? I would probably say the former, but it’s a complicated thing.

    My wife took the test and came out “nearly masculine”. She really railed against it, saying it was full of dumb stereotypes. haha. I could see that coming. She said, “so women aren’t leaders, who stand up for the truth who are assertive?” etc. etc.

    Like

  15. Eric says:

    I was thinking that a lot of terms are relative and your score depends on who you are comparing your self to. Are you aggressive compared to the average woman, average man, or a used car salesman? Are you compassionate compared to the average woman, average man, or Mother Teresa? I like children more than most man but less than most woman. I’m sympathetic for a guy, but most women are much more sympathetic than I am. And the opposite is true on a lot of the masculine questions.

    Like

  16. Eric says:

    “Let’s get rid of the dumb stifling stereotypes and all live as respectful joyful human beings. But then transgendered folks come along and say, ‘I feel like a girl rather than a boy,'”

    On the cogiati test, there is a question about would you prefer to live in a world without gender. You would still be you, but everyone else would have no concept of gender. The most “right” (TG+) answer is “fantastic, that would be awesome”. The most “wrong” answer is “that would be horrible.” Is it important to be viewed by other people as a woman? The “right” answer is absolutely and the “wrong” answer is not at all. Obviously that’s just a test, but I get the sense that tg’s transition because of society’s stereotypes. If there were no stereotypes or gender differentiation, TG people would be happier. That’s my take on it anyway.

    Like

  17. Ralph says:

    I’ll definitely have to check those other quizzes out. I have never had good things to say about the COGIATI for all of the reasons cited above — stereotypes out the wazoo.

    Eric, I got into an interesting argument a while back with some anti-gender folks… they oppose all gender labels for anyone and consider any attempt at defining genders as nigh-on fascism. When I tried to suggest that some differences are hardcoded biologically, you’d have thought I was singing “Deutschland Uber Alles” at a bar mitzvah.

    But yeah, TGs (as a general rule, obviously allowing for a wide spectrum of diversity) tend to have a 19th-century romaticized ideal of femininity that very few biological women in my life could ever live up to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

