Living in our Resurrection Hope!

Here is an Easter Resurrection passage for us to dwell on this week – 1 Peter 1:3-9, 13-16.  I’ve bolded the parts I think we should focus on.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

13 Therefore, with minds that are alert and fully sober, set your hope on the grace to be brought to you when Jesus Christ is revealed at his coming. 14 As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. 15 But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; 16 for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”

We are now in the very joyful and wonderful Easter season of the church calendar year.  I want to encourage you all to meditate on this passage and think about the inexpressible riches we have in our Lord Jesus.  Through Jesus, not only do we get abundant life with God now, but we get eternal life and perfect happiness forever.  Jesus has conquered our sin and conquered our death.  In him we have full forgiveness and get to worship God and enjoy his love.

As we wait for Jesus to come back and make all things new, we do have to suffer grief in various forms of trials.  Some of the trials which we face are dealing with daily temptations to sin.  I just had a slight temptation a few minutes ago.  They are a pain in the butt.  I cannot wait until Jesus returns!  I cannot wait until God transforms my heart and mind fully and completely so that I no longer give in to irrational lies and mess myself up in sin.  I cannot wait until God transforms my heart and mind fully so that I am no longer even tempted to sin, or ever tempted to crossdress again.

As we wait we must focus on being holy.  We must resist crossdressing and all of its perversity.  How do we do this?  Verse 13 says we set our hopes on the grace given to us in Christ Jesus, what we have already received, and the grace coming when Jesus returns.  We respond to God’s grace with obedience and thanksgiving.  And we look at God’s holiness as our example.  We are to be holy like he is holy.

Let us all live in the victorious resurrection power which Jesus bestows on us through the Holy Spirit.  Let’s give up our addictions and slavery to crossdressing and enjoy abundant life with Jesus!  Here is a song to help you realize your victory you have in Jesus – Victory.

 

7 comments on “Living in our Resurrection Hope!

  1. Kaitliana26 says:

    Interesting. My church, which started back in October “Officially” ; a daughter church plant. Anywho, our church uses part of this part in Peter as our main desire, “objective” – I cannot think of the proper word for it at the moment.

    But my church uses:

    Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. 1 Peter 1:3-5

    Our Website: http://www.livinghopepca.org

    Like

  2. Jared says:

    I’ve been healing from my past over the last year or so. I’ve come a long way. For the first time in a long time, I said the words “I love you” the other day to a human being. My heart is more open now than it has been since I was a little kid.

    There’s a book on Amazon that I was looking at the other day. Here is an excerpt from the book description:

    “Perhaps the most important discovery that Dr. Nelson has made is that trapped emotional energies will often gather around the heart, creating a “Heart-Wall” that may block you from giving and receiving love freely.”

    I had a wall over my heart all these years because of emotional energies, such as pain, anger, resentment, guilt, anxiety, and self-hate. But I have been working through these issues and now that wall is breaking down.

    I shut myself off from love all these years. That was the missing element in my life. I had a lot of self-hate, which I believe was a driving force behind my crossdressing. My self-esteem has dramatically improved over the few months using EFT.

    We can’t give love to others if we don’t have love for ourselves. It only makes sense. I never believed I deserved love because I didn’t have love for others. That was the cycle I was stuck in for so many years. I had so many negative beliefs about myself, and that was why I was in such bad shape at times.

    I think awhile back you commented on my blog that perhaps God still needed to change my heart. This will during a time when I was struggling. My heart did need to change, and it’s happening.

    “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.”
    – Proverbs 4:23

    Our hearts have to change in order for our thoughts to change. And our thoughts have to change in order for our behaviors (crossdressing) can change.

    But once this happens, ourselves and our lives will be drastically different. My life will never be the same after what has happened to me recently.

    Another component in all this is forgiving ourselves. I’ve been so hard on myself over the years, and that’s what contributed to my self-hate. I would never forgive myself for the mistakes I made. But I’m doing this now. Making mistakes is a part of life. Forgiving myself and others has been very instrumental in healing from my past. It’s a byproduct of a much healthier self-esteem that I now possess.

    We just have to change the energy inside of our body, heal from our past, and be able to give and receive love freely.

    A lot of times, we keep negative emotions inside of us instead of releasing them. These emotions fester inside of us for years and years, creating negative energy, which eventually manifests itself physically.

    But we can heal from these emotions. It’s a process, and we don’t heal 100% overnight. But with time, we can become whole again.

    If our inner-world is full of peace, harmony, and love, then I believe the desire to crossdress will no longer exist.

    Like

  3. thorin25 says:

    Jared, great to hear from you! So glad you are finding healing in your heart, and learning to love and receive love.

    A book I really appreciated called “when helping hurts” talks about how God created us for 4 types of relationships. 1. Relationship with him which is primary. 2. Relationship with self. 3. Relationship with other people. 4. And relationship with the rest of God’s creation.

    The Fall into sin affected all 4 of those relationships. Adam and Eve were afraid of God and they ruptured the relationship with him. Their relationship with self was corrupted as well, as they were ashamed of themselves instead of delighting in being made in the image of God. Their relationship with each other was distorted as Adam blamed Eve for what happened. And their relationship with the rest of the creation was disrupted. The world became a dangerous place. There is now strife between animals and people. God cursed the ground and it is not harder to obtain from the earth’s bounty.

    Jesus redeems all of these broken relationships for us, and for true abundant life, we need all of these relationships healed.

    We need to be made right with God again, forgiven for our sins, and enjoy relationship with him.
    We need to be made right with ourselves. We need to not be too prideful thinking of ourselves like God, we need not think of ourselves too lowly and despise ourselves (or not forgive ourselves), but instead to realize we are made in the image of God, valued by him, and we have an important role in life.
    We need to be made right with each other, learning to love one another as God has loved us.
    And we need to be made right with the rest of creation, being good stewards of the world God has given to us, and taking care of the animals, etc.

    Sorry for this tangent, but thought you might find it interesting or helpful.

    It sounds like good work is going on in your heart and mind, and that you are healing from past hurts and lies you told to yourself about your worth. I definitely agree with you that our hearts need to change in order for our thoughts and behavior to change.

    It is a process, and I pray for you that God would continue this healing process in your soul. Jared, you are loved by God, created by him in his image to represent him in this world. You have such extreme value that Jesus, God himself, was willing to die for you. You can let go of your guilt and self-loathing because God loves you and takes away the sin of all those who trust in Jesus.

    Thank you for this testimony of how you are doing. Keep in touch!

    Like

  4. Jared says:

    Thanks Thorin!

    I truly believe that love can overcome much of the problems that we have in our life, including crossdressing.

    Since my heart has opened up more, I’ve noticed that my connection with crossdressing has weakened. It’s not as erotic as it used to be. I don’t think this is an accident.

    I think a high self-esteem is undervalued by society. We’re often told to be humble, not too think too highly of ourselves, etc. And that is all is well and good. But I don’t think there’s enough talk about loving and forgiving ourselves. Yes, we need to be humble, but it’s also important to have confidence and belief in ourselves! And that’s the balance that we all need to find.

    Jesus couldn’t have been the person he was if he had a low self-esteem or a lack of self-love.

    I’ve read that we are all a part of God. If so, then that should serve as a reminder of how amazing we truly are.

    We also have to stand on guard, not allowing other people’s energies to affect ours. I was put down by my brother a lot as a kid, and that affected my self-esteem. But I know now that I need to rise above and not allow others to affect how I perceive myself.

    Physical health is so valued nowadays, but the mental and emotional components are almost ignored. Yet, this is where so problems stem from.

    Like

  5. Kaitliana26 says:

    Hi Jared, I’m fairly new to finding Thorin’s website. But I couldn’t help but notice the shocking similarities you have to what I’ve been struggling with – not merely the crossdressing – but your mentioning of love and not expressing of it. Samehere! I found out not long ago, I was “Hiding from Love”. Through John Townsend, his book “Hiding From Love”, which seems very similar to the book you mentioned! We deserve love, we deserve to express it, and thoroughly embrace it!! Jesus longs to embrace us with His love, so why shouldn’t we?

    In the short time that I have been embracing love, I have turned from being “Emotionless” to being told by others that they’re encouraged by my willingness to be vulnerable – particularly through expressing love, or being expressing of emotions! It’s SO freeing!!

    Thank you for sharing, Jared!!

    Like

  6. Jared says:

    Couldn’t have said it any better! If heal on the inside, the outside will reflect it. That’s all we really need to concern ourselves with.

    I believe that crossdressing in most cases is just a manifestation of what we feel internally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

