Helpful link explaining transsexual types

I found a website very helpful in clarifying some things for me.  There is a lot of disagreement even among the transgender community about trans-sexuality, the science behind it, and whether there are different types of transsexuals or not, and if so, what types there are.  Reading blogs and articles it is easy to get confused.  In particular there is a lot of talk about a “Blanchard theory”, some people advocating it, and some saying it’s totally bunk.   If you are confused about these things, this website gives a helpful summary of the Blanchard position and addresses some counter-arguments.

What is a transsexual?

FAQ on the Science of Changing Sex

I’m certainly willing to be corrected if someone presents good evidence, but so far I find Blanchard’s theories to be helpful, convincing, and they fit with my own experiences.  His views fit very well with the stories of so many crossdressers and transsexuals I’ve read about, talked to, and prayed for.   This doesn’t at all mean that I buy into every detail that Blanchard said or believes.

To read a well thought out counter view to Blanchard’s theory – see Crossdreamers.  Warning – there are some images at this site that could cause some of you to stumble, and the subject matter can get very raw and gritty and some posts I stopped reading.  However, there are many posts at this site that I think are interesting and worth reading, though I disagree with much of it.

Neither of these websites totally represent the views I hold to on this blog.  If you go to them, read carefully, with discernment and wisdom, and be careful not to be led into temptation while reading about sensitive topics like this.  If you want to know how I would address a person struggling with transgender feelings as a pastor, I have written extensively about it and won’t repeat myself here.   My posts about the topic of transgender.

8 comments on “Helpful link explaining transsexual types

  1. EricP says:

    Thorin,

    In the latest DSM, Blanchard’s theory has been limited to a subset of CD’s and does not apply to TS. The articles in your links are very old (1980’s). They have to go back that far because psychiatrists stopped thinking that way decades ago.

    Here’s a recent article http://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp-content/uploads/AFSP-Williams-Suicide-Report-Final.pdf that talks about the high percentage of suicides in the CD (20%) and TS (40+%) community.

    Like

  2. thorin25 says:

    Eric, keep in mind that on these issues I disagree with most psychiatrists. That said, I do think we have a lot to learn from them. I’m interested in reading your article. Thanks!

    Like

  3. Kay Brown says:

    EricP,

    Sorry, but you are dead wrong… the scientific paper trail does not END in the ’80s but STARTS in the ’70s and ’80s. The most recent papers to test Blanchard’s hypothesis are being published very recently, most importantly, the Nuttbrock paper that exactly duplicated / verified Blanchard’s initial study, but using five times as many transpeople… which was published in 2011.

    Far from “psychiatrists stopped thinking that way decades ago”… the science is continuing and growing. The APA’s report on TG folk clearly distinguished the two types as “early” and “late”.

    Further, the work is NOT limited to a subset of CD’s, but shown to be applicable to the majority of CD’s, in fact to be definitional of heterosexual CD’s, as opposed to gay “drag queens” (occasionally lumped in with CD).

    Either you are seriously misinformed (from reading the AGP TS blogosphere kook-aid) or are in fact attempting to create disinformation (as I know many AGP TS bloggers deliberately attempt)… I address the phenomena in my blog.

    –Kay Brown

    Like

  4. EricP says:

    Hey Kay,

    By subset of CD’s, I wasn’t trying to quantify how many CD’s, just that autogynphelia is associated with CD, not TS (at least according to DSM5).

    I’ll have to look up the Nuttbruck paper.

    I wasn’t arguing that there are people transition at different types. People obviously transition at different times and there have been historically 2 age frames (~20 and ~40), but I think that difference is collapsing. I just don’t think AGP is the explanation. I think all MTF’s are female regardless of how long it takes them to get there. I think part of the age difference is that some people can’t pass as their birth gender and others can. Another part is internalized transphobia. Another is external pressure. I guess I wonder why is the two types important to you? Why do early transitioners think older are AGP’s, but older ones don’t? There’s so much anti-T hatred, why the infighting?

    Like

  5. thorin25 says:

    Eric what does it mean to you “to be female” if you think all MTF’s are indeed female. What does that even mean? How do you define sexuality? Is it just whatever we identity ourselves as, that is our true real sex? I would strongly disagree (as you probably already know). I don’t think your view makes sense.

    Like

  6. EricP says:

    Thorin,

    I think the only reason to transition is bring the secondary gender characteristics in alignment with the primary gender. Until there are tests of true gender (brain scans?), then we’re left with self-assessment. This assessment should be done with a gender expert who is trained to look for other problems that might be presenting as gender dysphoria (chlld abuse, sex addiction, some mental illnesses).

    I realize you disagree, but I think that’s because you generalize from your own sexual addiction. Masculinity/femininity are the general characteristics of the two genders. A male can be more effeminate than any woman and still have a male identity. I know some MTF’s that aren’t particularly feminine (compared to women), but needed to transition to resolve the psychological trauma of gender/body mismatch.

    I just read a feminist article complaining that people make too big of an issue of the different reproductive systems. If the only difference between men and women were the body parts, I think they would be much more similar than they are. The difference is driven by hormones and brain structure. MTF’s brains run on estrogen and FTM’s on testosterone.

    Like

  7. thorin25 says:

    I don’t agree that self assessment is the only thing necessary. I look at my wife and she is clearly biologically female. If she doesn’t “feel female” that does not change the reality that she is indeed female.

    I have not read anything convincing yet on differences in brain structure. Have you?

    We are agreed that men and women are different and that goes beyond the reproductive systems. However, some people stress those differences too much.

    “MTF’s brains run on estrogen and FTM’s on testosterone.” Do you have any research to support that? Were that true, I feel like it would be all over the news. If males who are transgender have the same amount of estrogen and testosterone as females, and those hormones function with their brains the same way as females, I think that might be significant.
    However, even if that were the case, it’s a logical stretch to say that male is actually a female in identity, when it would make far more common sense and biological sense to say that that man’s hormones are not functioning correctly as they should be compared to other men.

    Like

  8. Kay Brown says:

    EricP, by now, you should have had sufficient time to read all of my blog… and to look up all of the papers I reference, that fully support the Two Type taxonomy… but if you read only one, it should be this entry: http://sillyolme.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/a-clinical-view/

    An old joke about the difference between cross-dressers and (older transitioning) transsexuals? Two years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

