OCD connection to crossdressing

By OCD, I am of course referring to Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.  I’ve been looking at a number of websites and articles online that talk about a connection between OCD and crossdressing.  It’s very interesting and important for me to think about because 1.  I am mildly OCD and 2. There are reports of crossdressers finding relief of their symptoms by taking medication used to treat OCD.

Firstly, how many of you readers are OCD?  I took an online test that seems fairly legit.  Click here for the test.  For me personally, I scored a 16, and the test says a score of 12 and up means it is very likely I have some sort of OCD.  Obviously it is not a foolproof test, but my friends and family members have made fun of my obsessive nature many times, calling me OCD.  Watching movies of people with severe OCD people, I can see myself in them, having their same tendencies but not to such an extreme, so that I can still live a healthy life.  I do count things, have strange thoughts pop into my head repeatedly, I do have extreme obsessions about organizing and cleanliness, and of course crossdressing compulsions.  However none of these things really affect my life very much in a negative way.  They are all controllable and I do not think I need any medication.  The only one that affected me much in the past was of course crossdressing and that one is under control even without medication.  But that is just me.  Perhaps for some of you counseling regarding OCD, or medication for OCD, could be helpful in treating your crossdressing?  That is, if there is truly a connection.

 

Here are some articles and excerpts from books that talk about the possible connection.  See what you think.

1.   Abstract – Paraphilic disorders among patients with obsessive-compulsive disorder: case series by Manuela Borges.

2.   Abstract – OCD and transvestism: is there a relationship?

3.   Pdf – Treatment of Transvestic Fetishism With Fluoxetine: A Case Report

This is about a patient who was strictly interested in crossdressing, and did not have gender dysphoria.  Different medications are discussed.

4.   Google Book Excerpt – Today’s Transgender Realities: Crossdressing in Context, Volume 2 by Bolich.

Hopefully the link works.  Go to page 149 in the book.  You can see that this author thinks the connection between crossdressing and OCD is uncertain.

5.    Google Book Excerpt – Cross Dressing, Sex, and Gender by Bullough.

For this book, go to page 352-358.  There are some possible medications discussed with reported successful treatment.

 

I also found this personal website in which the author discusses the relationship between crossdressing and OCD.

Here the author discusses the connection – The OCD/Depression GID Connection

And here – Practical Suggestions for those seeking Alternatives – the author discusses medication and claims to know more than one person who found help from such medications regarding their compulsive crossdressing.

 
 
For me I have found great change throughout my life in being less obsessive and compulsive than I used to be.  The symptoms I described about myself, I have been able to change and force myself to adapt and be less OCD.  And I’ve been able to overcome crossdressing.  There is hope for all of us.  But if you think it would be helpful for you to take medication, I suggest trying it, and don’t feel any shame any doing so.  If crossdressing is ruining your life, and you have been mostly unsuccessful stopping the behavior through the other ways I have suggested, it seems like it doesn’t hurt to try medication to see if that helps.

Any comments?

5 comments on “OCD connection to crossdressing

  1. mariposa1967 says:

    30… Much as I remain unconvinced by some self testing, that is pretty much a convincing score. It is very typical of a shame based person. Shame is the root of OCD and also other narcissistic personality traits. I prefer to label myself as ‘shame bound ‘. It’s highly accurate

    Like

  2. thorin25 says:

    wow 30 seems very high. What do you think of talking to a counselor about that score?

    Like

  3. ikthys says:

    I got less “unlikely”. i am known for my organizational skills, and I do emotionally sympathize with ocd-type people, but I think my whole life has forced it out of me unrelentingly. I have not explored the connection to CD much from this angle, but I would say up front that, for me, I don’t find this to be much of a factor. I DO think self-control in general is a major factor, and I could see a connection there (even to the medicinal aid from OCD prescriptions for CDers). Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Zack says:

    I’ve got moderate OCD. i’m taking medicine for it. The medicine “knocks down” a little of the OCD but not completely. I’ve had OCD for most of my life. It’s a horrific disorder to have especially if you have moderate to severe OCD. I have a combination of pure O OCD and the fear of harming others category of OCD. It has ruined my life. I had to stop working, I’ve had several mental breakdowns, and I’ve generally felt chained into either having to do or not do do things. By the grace of God I’m still alive and more or less functioning as best I can. I am doing better now. I read The Bible almost every day and try to place my hope and help in God alone. I don’t know if my wearing of women’s hose caused me to be punished by God by having the OCD or if my wearing of hose is part of OCD. For a long time I have not worn women’s hose but I still have OCD. I thought I would add my story to the blog.

    Like

  5. thorin25 says:

    Thank you for your story Zack. It sounds like you have much more severe OCD than me, but God is also helping you and bringing you restoration.

    I suggest to you the book Counseling the Hard Cases – https://www.amazon.com/Counseling-Hard-Cases-Stuart-Scott-ebook/dp/B00AKL02BG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1494489585&sr=8-1&keywords=counseling+the+hard+cases

    There was a very encouraging chapter about a man with OCD who found great transformation and healing through biblical counseling, check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

