Dress-up in a Different Way

Crossdressers love to play dress-up.  I’ve been there.  I know the secret pleasures of hours in front of the mirror playing dress-up with clothes that were not meant for me.  Ah, but that time is gone.  And I don’t miss it.  What a fruitless activity.  What a powerful addiction that was.  It kept me in bondage for so many years.  No longer.

Now I play a different kind of dress-up.  Now I seek to clothe myself with Christ.  No more clothing myself with bras and panties and living in the delusion that I could make myself a woman just by changing the outer clothing.  That is stupid and wrong.  Now I clothe myself with Christ, and clothe myself with the virtues he wants me to have.

Romans 13:14Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.

Galatians 3:27For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.

Colossians 3:12Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

Clothing myself with Christ is a metaphor to be sure, but not completely.  When we become a Christian, Jesus the Christ truly comes to live in us.  And when he lives in us, he changes us from the inside out.  He gives us his own perfect righteousness so that we can have salvation, and then he begins to transform our lives by the Holy Spirit.  We then begin to actually look like him, not perfectly, no, not until he comes again in glory, but we do, in some small but concrete ways, begin to look more like Jesus.

For the Christian, this is what real beauty is all about, for both men and women.  For any of us, crossdressers or not, we are not to be so concerned with our outward physical appearance, spending hours in front of the mirror trying to look beautiful and obtain some cultural ideal.  We are supposed to be more concerned that we are following Jesus and living the way he wants us to live.

1 Timothy 2:9-10 –  9 I also want women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, 10 but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God.

1 Peter 3:3Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes.

1 Peter 5:5-7 –  5 Young men, in the same way be submissive to those who are older. All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”  6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

The beauty of living like Jesus bears fruit in making the world a better place, and makes us more into the people God created us to be.   My brothers (and sisters), let us together strive for this kind of beauty.  It begins by trusting Jesus as your savior and inviting him into your life, and then let the joy of his salvation and forgiveness for your sins transform you, so that you delight to show him your thanksgiving by living a transformed life.

6 comments on “Dress-up in a Different Way

  1. MICHAEL MURPHY says:

    Hello. It’s me. Just wanted to let you know where my exploration has taken me…and it’s not wretchedness. It’s love. God created me in a special way. I’m a little more female than male. Sure, I wear ‘guy’ clothes. But they are just clothes. I don’t knolw if you are aware of this but there is/are tests to find out what gender your brain is. What God created inside your skull before you were born( the way a person is wired). I am fortunate in that I have been given more of a female brain than the average guy. In taking tests called ‘brain gender’ tests, I found that my brain ranged anywhere from 75% to 90% female. What does that make me in God’s eyes? I know what that makes me in human’s eyes and I can accept that. I’m very comfortable in my skin and have accepted that part of me that is permanent until the day I die. In fighting this, I’ve become a very frustrated individual because I was fighting against something that God created inside my skull, before I was born. I’m a caring, compassionate, 6’7″ man who is living his life to the fullest. When I talk about the CD thing to people, my desire wains and I don’t have a need to dress as much. When it was a secret, I did it more but not anymore. You may want to take a brain gender test yourself sometime and see who you really are. You don’t have to crossdress to have a female brain. Heck, look at all the women who crossdress in ‘our’ clothes everyday. Nothing is said about that…nothing in the Bible about that. But let one ‘dude’ do it and see what happens. Society has stigmatized us for no reason. Don’t beat yourself up for who you are. God doesn’t want us grovelling on the ground about this…let us praise him and be thankful for who we are. I have a gay friend that I go to church with that was really low about who he thought he was…that he was a terrible wretch. His son turned out to be gay but his son didn’t know his dad was. Do you think God may have altered some genetics there? He doesn’t make junk. The friend that I am speaking of finally realized after a suicide attempt and tons of counselling that he wasn’t ‘broke’ and is now very happy being who he is. Blessings to you in your journey!

    Like

  2. Don says:

    This made me think of something that might work for some of us. When I was living as a woman for a brief time, I used to go to the department store and try on all the clothes that I liked, It was a real live fantasy.

    I was wondering if a male crossdresser could do the same thing but with men’s clothes, When I was deeply into crossdressing I hated being a man and only bought men’s clothes because I had to. There was no joy in it.

    Would it be good therapy for a recovering crossdresser to experiment with going to the store and trying on the really expensive clothes that he would look handsome in, just to build up his image of masculinity? I’m sure if he brought his wife with him she would ooh and ahh.

    Just a thought.

    Don

    Like

  3. Gerry Bakke says:

    I was thinking much the same as Don. Why not dress up as a man with great outfits and become the handsome man you were meant to be. I was happy to receive this message today. I have not dressed as a woman for over 3 months or looked at the internet cross dressing sites for over a month. Today was one of those days that I really struggled and was glad to get this email. I also have a real fetish and desire for my old lipstick. I do have to admit though that these urges are becoming less and less over time. They will probably never go totally away, but I am feeling better now. Gerry

    Like

  4. thorin25 says:

    Michael, if you set aside the issues of crossdressing, transgender, and homosexuality, I still think I am a wretch. Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a “wretch” like me. To be a Christian one must think of himself as a wretch and acknowledge our sin. The kind of things you are saying, do not fit with the Christian faith, and I’m not just talking about how you are affirming homosexuality and transgender ideas. I highly encourage you to read the Bible more, and see that all of us even though we are God’s special creatures, that we are all, each one of us, fallen, broken, born in sin, rebelled against God, not living the way he wants us to live. I encourage you to read these posts as they address this, as well as the gender tests you were talking about:
    https://healingcd.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/but-i-was-born-with-these-desires/
    https://healingcd.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/gender-identity-quizzes/
    https://healingcd.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/gender-sameness-and-difference/

    Like

  5. thorin25 says:

    Don, I do agree with you very much. A big part of my healing is having my wife help me have a better male wardrobe and affirming me in my looks as a man. I do a good job with my beard and my wife likes it, and it’s obviously masculine because its a beard. And I care a bit about the clothes I put on as a man. It all helps

    Like

  6. thorin25 says:

    Michael, I think biologically you are not a wretch. I think you are like me, you are a man who is different. But that doesn’t make you a man with a female brain. No. You are a man who is sensitive, caring, etc. You are not a female trapped in male body. You are not some kind of morph who can change from male to female. You are not some kind of genetic experiment where you are both male and female at once. You are just Michael, a man God created, a man who is sensitive, gentle, loves beauty. There is nowhere in the Bible or in science (that I know of) to say that this means you must have a female brain. Who makes the rules as to what it means to be male or female anyway? If we go by the Bible, you are being the kind of man you are supposed to be. So I’m not sure how these attributes would in any way cause you to think crossdressing is good, and i’m not sure how these attributes would in any way cause you to think you had a female brain. Brother you are giving in to the cultural stereotypes about gender. Be the man you are and stop thinking you must be really female to be who you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

